Happy Anniversary/Father’s Day To Me

My five year wedding anniversary was Friday the 15th and we stayed in a cabin at Hocking Hills in Central Ohio for the weekend. It was a wonderful three days with my wife, alone – with not even cell service. We went antiquing (and I liked it) and we saved the hiking until Sunday (our last day there), after we checked out.

Trekking through the mud (it was lightly raining) was a wonderful Father’s Day start.

We didn’t get home until 6 pm and my daughter fell asleep at the dinner table not long after we picked her up. I spent about fifteen minutes with one of my kids on Father’s Day, but it was still a wonderful day and a great close to an unforgettable weekend.

2012-06-17_19-11-00_589

On Saturday I faced my fear of heights and went on a 3 hour zip line tour. The zips were, on average, 60 feet up and 500 feet long. we did 10 of them and 5 cable bridges. It was one of the best adventures of my life. I would do it again, over and over again. I am jealous of the guides as they get to do it 2 – 3 times a day.

Great anniversary weekend capped off by a quiet Father’s Day. Sometimes it is not a bad thing that the kids aren’t al in your face on Father’s Day. Sometimes it is nice when the day is about the Father having time to think.

I hope all of your fathers and all of you that are fathers had a wonderful day and spent it how you wanted to. Sometimes that is the greatest gift.

Leave a Reply

