A Kiss On The Lips And An “I Love You”

A child shows affection how she sees others showing affection and I am happy to say that when my wife and I greet one another or just want to show our love we kiss on the mouth.

The only issue with our choice of private – turned public affection is that my two year old only wants to kiss people on the mouth. It was cute a year ago. Now it is becoming disturbing and completely inappropriate (in my opinion).

She kisses everyone from my wife and I (her parents) to her grandparents to her aunts and their boyfriends and husbands (not cool), her great grandparents (eh) and friends of the family.

We have started trying to discourage her, but a kiss on the cheek is hard for her to understand. My wife and I have even started kissing on the cheek to show her it is okay.

The other issue was that she was telling everyone (including waitresses at restaurants) that she loved them. We discouraged that and now she won’t tell anyone she loves them with out coaxing. I will tell her that I love her and she will respond with a yeah.

Affection is something that we just don’t know how to explain or display.

I need a happy balance. I need help. We have no idea what to do in this situation.

4 thoughts on “A Kiss On The Lips And An “I Love You”

  1. We have a lot of this problem too. I think I would just explain it that it’s okay to tell so and so you love them, but not strangers and it’s okay to kiss mommy and daddy on the lips, but everyone else you must kiss them on the cheek. Maybe she wouldn’t hold back the “I love you’s” as much and she’d be able to understand the kissing part. Or….tell her only Mommy and Daddy’s kiss on the lips, everyone else gets kisses on the cheek. Good luck!

  2. Pingback: WHY HE WON’T CALL YOU BACK AFTER YOUR FIRST DATE | deebeedeborah

  3. I don’t even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was great. I don’t know who you are but definitely you are going to a famous blogger if you are not already 😉 Cheers!

  4. Pingback: Chapter Four – I Love Him « SSA or Gay?

Leave a Reply

